Ask Joy York a question

Joy York

Joy York

Thriller Mystery Romantic Suspense Teen & Young Adult
      • Joy York Joy York 2 years ago
        Follow
        Author
      • Hi Mathew,

It is nice for you to reach out. Self-publishing is a scary thing, and honestly, I am still learning.
        My first book, The Bloody Shoe Affair, was a process of trial and errors. At the time I actually paid a marketing company. They sent my book to several reviewers who did very positive reviews, but it didn't net in books sells. They got me radio and blog interviews. Frankly, it was a waste of money. The most effective marketing has been Facebook, Twitter and joining a literary club that has a catalogue and a community of fellow writers who help support and market your book. The club is Rave Reviews Book Club.
        Writing is my second career, so I use my LinkedIn account too. The one thing the marketing company did was set up my Twitter account and encourage me to set up a website. I am currently setting up a blog. Although I had a personal FB account, I set up a public one. The most effective tool for marketing I have learned is Facebook boost. Or you can do a FB ad. They are relatively inexpensive, and you can target your audience by gender, location (general by country or specific by state or city), interest, etc. It will go to thousands of people. You can set your length of time. budget, and pause or delete it at any time if you don't feel it is effective. You can pull up results instantly.

I have found the writing community to be very supportive. I would encourage you to join a literary club.

If I can be of further assistance, let me know.

Have a wonderful day!

Joy
        • Stephen P Jeffries Stephen P Jeffries 2 years ago
          Follow
          Author