Ask Rita Dragonette a question

Rita Dragonette

Rita Dragonette

Historical Fiction Women's Fiction Literary Fiction Biographies & Memoirs
      • Rita Dragonette Rita Dragonette 4 years ago
        Follow
        Author
      • The language of this question is a bit startling, but I’ll answer it per my interpretation. I’m a third-career writer. I didn’t make literary writing a focus until after long careers in other areas, and I know what it took to accomplish success in each. I don’t have another 25 years to learn how to write or wander for a topic. I’m really focused. “The Fourteenth of September” was a story 50 years in development that hadn’t been told and needed to—for the country, for women, and for me, and I wouldn’t let myself work on anything else until it was complete. Now, I have to move faster. I have three other works lined up that I will work on probably out of order as the spirit moves me. I’m interested in specific topics that involve the patterns of my unique, transitional generation and the impact of war through the female line. My next book is an homage to “The Sun Also Rises,” about expats in San Miguel who have come with their last dream, the one that really has to come true. I’m also working on a WWII novel about an American nurse, a German woman who was part of the Lebensborn program, and their daughters, and on a memoir in essays. To finish these are my goal. If I get through them and think of others, it will be frosting, but my dream will be achieved.
      • like (1)
        Follow
        Author